Sheridan – Heart of the Ruby Valley

Upper Rubby Valley

By Ruby Loeffelholz University of Montana- Davidson Honors College Sheridan, originating from the 1863 construction of a sawmill on Mill Creek sits in the heart of southwest Montana’s Ruby Valley. It’s defined not only by its 20-mile-long valley that holds the constantly meandering Ruby River but also by the prominent rises of the Tobacco Root … Read more

Jackson and Wisdom – Montana Originals

Jackson Hotel

By Bethany Tafoya – University of Montana- Davidson Honors College Placed in the Big Hole Valley between the Beaverhead and Anaconda Ranges and the Pioneer Mountains, Jackson and Wisdom are a vestige of the past. Old West towns with saloon dramas, rival shop owners, Indian wars, and fires, they had it all. Originally called “the Crossing” for its place at the crossroads of trails … Read more

Anaconda – A Montana Gem

Anaconda Deer Lodge County Courthouse

By Mark Spero and Rick Graetz “In 1880, Nate Leavengood’s meadow, where Anaconda now stands, was a lush and quiet place. As far as the eye could see in all directions there was nothing but the valley, the swelling foothills and mountain ramparts…four years later, the meadow was gone…there had been no gradual encroachment of … Read more

Montana Tech

By Mark Spero For the past century, Montana Technological University has been internationally recognized for its excellence in the science, technology, engineering, and math (STEM) disciplines. The university connects focused students to a network of people, opportunities, and experiences and empowers them to change the world. Our determined students learn in state-of-the-art facilities and perform hands-on work … Read more

The University of Montana Western

University of Montana Western is a small, comprehensive university with an integrated two- and four-year mission, offering certificate, associate, and baccalaureate degrees in education, business, and the liberal arts. It is the only public university in the United States that utilizes the program Experience One, where students take one 4-credit course, three hours a day … Read more

National Forests of Southwest Montana

Beaverhead-Deerlodge National Forest   |   Helena-Lewis and Clark National Forest The largest of the national forests in Montana, the Beaverhead-Deerlodge covers 3.35 million acres and lies in eight Southwest Montana counties: Granite, Powell, Jefferson, Deer Lodge, Silver Bow, Madison, Gallatin and Beaverhead. The forest provides timber, minerals, and grazing lands and offers grand mountain … Read more