National Forests of the Continental Divide Trail in Montana

National Forests

Continental Divide Trail National Forests Of The Trail

The Continental Divide Trail extends 3,100 miles between Mexico and Canada. 2,140 of those miles run through National Forest System lands. Thru hikers will find themselves traversing 20 National Forests while on the trail. The diverse landscape of New Mexico, Colorado, Wyoming, Idaho and Montana present hikers access to remote backcountry as well as more popular segments that run near our Gateway Communities. The Continental Divide Trail in Montana runs through both Glacier and Yellowstone National Parks in addition to five of the National Forests found in the state: Custer Gallatin National Forest, Beaverhead-Deerlodge National Forest, Bitterroot National Forest, Helena-Lewis and Clark National Forest, and Flathead National Forest.

Southwest Montana National Forests

Montana National Parks and Forests